

## **IPRA Board Geographic Representatives Job Description**

Illinois Park & Recreation Membership is divided into four geographic areas. Geographic representatives will be responsible for representing the members in their geographic area, as determined by the zones below.

## **Roles and Responsibilities**

- Maintain contact with regional affiliates, if one exists, in their particular zone and provide twoway communication between the regional members and the leadership of the organization;
- Provide information to the Board on regional activities and needs;
- Be available for appointment to Committees/Task Forces of the organization, as directed by the Board Chair;
- Promote membership in IPRA and propose recruitment and retention campaigns;
- Serve as ambassadors to non-members and convey information regarding the initiatives, goals and missions of the organization;
- Other duties as assigned by the Chair of the Board.

## Zones

- Chicago Metro Zone shall consist of the following counties: Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake and Will.
- Northwestern Zone shall consist of the following counties: Boone, Bureau, Carrol, Jo Davies, DeKalb, Grundy, Henry, Kendall, LaSalle, Lee, McHenry, Mercer, Ogle, Putnam, Rock Island, Stephenson, Whiteside and Winnebago.
- Central Zone shall consist of the following counties: Adams, Brown, Cass, Champaign, Coles, DeWitt, Douglas, Ford, Fulton, Hancock, Henderson, Iroquois, Kankakee, Knox, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McLean, Menard, Morgan, Peoria, Platt, Sangamon, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell. Vermilion, Warren and Woodford.
- Southern Zone shall consist of the following counties: Alexander, Bond Calhoun, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Cumberland, Edgar, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jersey, Johnson, Lawrence, Macoupin, Madison, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Montgomery, Moultrie, Pike, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, St. Clair, Saline, Scott, Shelby, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White and Williamson.

## **Qualifications**

- Must be a current Professional Member of IPRA for the duration of the term.
- Must be located in a county located within their geographical zone.
- All board members will hold a certification that is awarded by either examination or balanced
  continuing education units or credits on an annual basis. If a candidate does not have the
  certification, the candidate must meet the eligibility to sit for the certification exam by the time
  the ballot goes out and must achieve certification within the first year in office.